Fitbit Flex Review

fitbit

After using the Jawbone UP for almost six months, I wasn’t loving the product. I decided to jump ship to the Fitbit Flex, since there was a lot of hype surrounding it. I’ve had the Fitbit Flex for almost a year now, so I thought I’d share my pros and cons list.

PROS 

  • The band is lightweight – I can barely feel it there.
  • I get an email and app notification when my battery is low.
  • I love that I have the option to change the band (hello coordinating outfits). In all seriousness, I like the option to change the band colour based on my mood or situation. I also like that it feels like a new Fitbit when I change the band.
  • In-app competitions with friends – This really motivated me. I noticed that my competitive side came out, and it encouraged me to meet my step goal every day (at the very least).

CONS 

  • There is no option to wake up at an optimal sleep time – Jawbone had this.
  • The battery drains really fast when you leave the Bluetooth on all the time. If I only turn on Bluetooth when I want to check my steps, my Fitbit will last about 5 – 7 days, depending on how often I sync it.
  • The band isn’t the very sleek or dressy, but the “prettier” options are a little out of my price range. I wouldn’t wear my Fitbit to a formal event.

Overall thoughts: I like the Fitbit more than the Jawbone. I do wish I could have the physical Fitbit Flex with the Jawbone UP software, but the Fitbit software does what I need it to do. The challenges are my favourite part about the Fitbit; they keep me motivated because competition drives me. If you are looking for something to motivate you to move more, you can’t go wrong with the Fitbit or the Jawbone.

Leave a comment